Welcome to Veterinary Social Work

(Vetsocialwork) #1

Welcome to the Veterinary Social Work Discussion Board.

This is an area to collaborate and share work on the four areas of veterinary social work.

• Animal Assisted Interactions
  • Animal related grief and bereavement
  • The link between human and animal violence
  • Compassion fatigue and conflict management

You can search for topics you are interested in, send private messages, get support, share resources, and join in the creation of veterinary social work.

Glad you are here!

(Elisha ) #4

I am currently a Social Worker at a Nursing home in Missouri and would like to gain more education. Where could I obtain a veterinary social work degree or certificate?

Thanks

Elisha

(Dr. Elizabeth B. Strand, LCSW) #5

http://vetsocialwork.utk.edu/postgraduate-vsw-certificate-programv2/

(Maura Bevilacqua) #6

Hi to all of you. I am thinking the same. I would like to undertake an accredited veterinary social work course. I am a qualified social worker in Australia, I have my Masters in Social Work and currently working at Monash University within Field Education Social Work Dept. This is an area of interest and would like to develop my knowledge in this area.
Can you please advise.
Thanks Maura

(Dr. Elizabeth B. Strand, LCSW) #7

(Francesca) #8

Hi Elisha, Where in MO are you located?

(Elisha ) #9

I live in the Kansas City area.

(Francesca) #10

I am in Columbia, if you ever wanted to come out and take a tour of our facility and see our veterinary social work setup you are most welcome :slight_smile:

(Elisha ) #11

Oh that would be awesome! Do you have a website? Is there a Program I could apply for?

(Francesca) #12

(Elisha ) #13